Collaborating???

Jun 29, 2012 at 3:26 PM

Hallo Jinhao,

First: thank you for Nana!!

I have many ideas, many questions and some suggestion.

I think Nana can be VERY interest for people learning C++.

Console applications are no more acceptable (even for simple examples), for the new generation that have “always” with GUI the PC used (with some kind of windows). Fast all other GUI libraries hat some deformation of C++, at least in the style that is normally “right” in C++. They are no gut for C++ beginners. That is why the C++ books for beginners use normally console applications only. I think many beginner switch quickly to Java or VB after a “this book use only console application examples”. You need to read a 1k page book without making a single simple windows in yours screen?? This is not for beginners looking for a language to write cool applications. And not only… I´m self in my 40´, but the user of my soft expect windows…

As you can see I am not a professional programmer. In fact I have only limited experience with C++. In particular Git is new for me. I have it installed and locally commit. It work (thank to you, I am using it for my project too).

I have compiled Nana with VC11, with VS2012RC. I want to send you this solution. I write for beginners too, so I have all directory dependences included in the project directly. I want your comments. I have a small modification of your Hello Word, to have fun with C++.

How can I “push” it back to you????

Coordinator
Jul 3, 2012 at 4:08 AM
Edited Jul 3, 2012 at 6:02 AM

Thank you for your suggestion.

To be honest, the examples that I use main() function are just for a purpose of conforming to standard C++, and it was just a indication of Consoles under Windows, it really confuses C++ beginners, thank you for your reminding, I will pay attention to this kind of issue.

Code contribution appreciated! You can commit to your fork with the clone URL: https://git01.codeplex.com/forks/qpcr4vir/mynana.